Top dental students lauded in Dean's Honours Celebration

"These are graduates that we expect to be leading, indeed likely transforming, health care and research," said the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, Professor Shitij Kapur.

Recipients of the Dean's Honours / Picture: Casamento Photography

The Dean's Honours Celebration recognises recent graduates who have achieved the highest academic results in several of the Faculty's flagship courses. The awardees have in common a commitment to deeply engaged, active and self-directed learning.

"Their studies have taken them to hospitals and health centres and immersed them in a wide range of communities across Victoria. They've undertaken research with our institute partners and studied overseas."

"Not surprisingly, their achievements extend well beyond the classroom," said Professor Kapur. "Perhaps most importantly, these graduates have pursued their studies with the capabilities and values that we as a Faculty see as so important: collaboration and teamwork, compassion, respect, integrity and accountability.

"These are graduates that we expect to be leading, indeed likely transforming, healthcare and research. We look forward to maintaining a long relationship with them as some of them continue their studies with us or move on to new careers in health and research."

All the very best to the Dean's Honours recipients.

Melbourne Dental School recipients

Doctor of Dental Surgery Kevin Lee displayed persistence and focus throughout the past four years which saw him achieve leading academic performance in the course. Kevin was particularly adept at extending himself in his clinical component of his course.

Bachelor of Oral Health graduate Rubab Batool was an exceptional academic achiever and a deeply engaged student, having contributed to hosting international visitors and assuming representative roles in her cohort. Rubab undertook a final-year project comparing the oral health of adults in Australia and Sweden, culminating in an exchange to Aarhus University in Denmark.


The full list of Dean's Honours recipients can be found here.